The state of Tennessee is home to a wide range of career options and fields, including the field of insurance. In fact, the state has good job offers and options for insurance agents.
Thus, if you consider becoming a licensed insurance agent in Tennessee, you must obtain a Tennessee insurance license.
It is preferable to check an insurance agent’s license to see whether it is current and active. You may also discover new information on the insurance agent within other areas of your search.
To verify an insurance agent in Tennessee, you should click here and use the online tool. Once you go through the link, you will see blank spaces, where you will need to enter the Jurisdiction name and search type (licensee, company).
After providing the required data, you must click on the “search” button to see the results.
Given these points, the online tool will show you what you were looking for (license status, number, personal data and so on).
To qualify for a Tennessee insurance license, you must complete a pre-licensing insurance course. The latter must be approved by the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance.
It is always wise of you to choose a course package that will satisfy the needs of the state requirements. In addition to this, the insurance courses should cover various insurance concepts, definitions, insurance laws and agent regulations. They should also include the following hours on:
When you are about to finish the pre-license course, there will be a final exam. Once you pass it, the course provider will “award” you with a Certificate of Course Completion. It is an important prerequisite for submitting the license application in the future.
To obtain a license, you must also take and pass the Tennessee state licensing exam. You will not be eligible to apply for licensure in case you fail. That is why you should concentrate on your studies and make the best out of them.
You should take one exam for each line of authority you are going to apply for. However, this does not mean that you will need to pay more money as the state offers “back to back” exams, such as Property and Casualty, Life and Health lines. Those exams charge you for one test sitting.
The examination contains 68 questions that touch on insurance material. The examination is divided into two sections- general knowledge and state specific. The former has 50 questions, while the latter has the remaining 18 questions.
The last step of the licensing process is submitting the application for your insurance license. Click here to submit the application.
You must see to it that you have applied for all the lines of authority you wish you carry in the future.
Note that you are required to wait 48 hours after passing the state exam to apply online for license.
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Agent Licensing Section
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 741-2693 or 888-416-0868
Fax: (615) 532-2862
The state of Tennessee requires renewing the insurance license every two years. You can renew it 45 days before the license is due to expire.
Follow this link to renew the Tennessee insurance license. You should pay $60 renewal fee.
Completing continuing education is the main requirement for license renewal. Hence, you should complete 24 hours of continuing education, including 3 hours of ethics training.