Tennessee HVAC License
If you plan to perform work on commercial and residential properties, you have to get HVAC refrigeration technicians and contractors.
Are there different types of licenses in Tennessee?
There are no different types of licenses in Tennessee. There is one available license in Tennessee, it is the HVAC refrigeration contractor license.
Technicians obtaining this type of license perform maintenance and install a variety of equipment like air conditioning, refrigeration, ventilation, heating, gas piping, and geothermal HVAC equipment.
Applicants have to meet all the mentioned requirements:
- Firstly, they have to pass the official Tennessee HVAC/Refrigeration exam and the Business/Law exam.
- Secondly, they have to provide financial statements to the licensing board.
- Thirdly, they have to carry workers’ compensation insurance, if they hire employees.
- Then, they must have experience working as an HVAC apprentice.
- After that, they have to be at least 18 years old with a high school diploma or GED.
- And lastly, they must possess general liability insurance up to $1,000,000.
If you are an HVAC contractor, you will install, maintain, and repair heating and air conditioning systems for residential and businesses properties. And if you obtain a refrigeration contract, you will troubleshoot. repair, and install equipment, like refrigerated storage units, beverage dispensers, and ice machines.
If you obtain an HVAC/Refrigeration contractor license, you will perform work on refrigeration units and heating and air conditioning units. HVAC technicians earn about $20,00 in an hour.
Who issues HVAC licenses in Tennessee?
The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance issues HVAC and Refrigeration contractor licenses.
How much does it cost to have a Tennessee HVAC license?
In order to get an HVAC license in Tennessee, you have to pay $50.
How to Get a Tennessee HVAC License?
There are some steps to complete in order to get your HVAC license in Tennessee.
- Firstly, you have to apply for a Tennessee HVAC program.
- Secondly, you must work under a licensed HVAC technician.
- Thirdly, you must complete the program.
- And lastly, you have to apply for your HVAC license.
There are HVAC training programs and schools in Tennessee. So here they are:
- The first one is Tennessee Registered Apprenticeship.
- The second one is an Online HVAC Training Program.
Are there types of HVAC Classes?
You can find different HVAC Classes in Tennessee.
- Electrical Heating
- Basic Electricity for HVAC
- Gas and Electric Heating
- HVAC Systems Design
- Power and Resistance
- Water Volume
- Air Conditioning Control Principles
- Energy Management and Green Building Design
Program Tuition Costs
You can find courses to complete online. There are different tuition for community college programs. You have to pay $250 per credit hour.
HVAC Program Prerequisites
- Firstly, you can possess a Tennessee driver’s license or ID card.
- Secondly, you must have a high school diploma or a GED.
- Thirdly, you will take a general aptitude placement test.
- Then, you must be 18 years old or older.
- Lastly, you must be physically capable of performing HVAC work.
There are on-the-job experience requirements in Tennessee in order to get an HVAC license.
- Your first step is to learn Tennessee HVAC codes.
- The second step is to perform HVAC and refrigeration work according to safety regulations.
- After that, you have to install HVAC systems using blueprints.
- Your fourth step is to perform math calculations on a variety of HVAC and refrigeration jobs.
- Then, you must maintain and install HVAC and refrigeration systems under the direction of a licensed HVAC/Refrigeration contractor.
- Your last step is to work at least 40 hours per week.
Do you need to take an exam in order to get a Tennessee HVAC license?
You need to take exams to obtain an HVAC license in Tennessee. There are two types of exams in Tennessee: the Tennessee HVAC/Refrigeration exam and the Business/Law exam. The exam consists of 100 questions, and you have a time limitation. You only have 260 minutes to complete the exam. A passing score for the exams is 73%. You have to pay $57 per exam.
How to study for HVAC exams?
- Firstly, you have to find a study partner or group.
- Then, you must read the HVAC test preparation material.
- You can hire an HVAC exam preparation tutor.
- You can take practice exams.
So you can find exam resources below:
- Firstly, American Contractor Exam Services
- Secondly, PSI Exam Online
- Thirdly, How to Study for Your PSI Contractor Exam
Do you need to renew your HVAC license?
You have to renew your HVAC license every year. For renewing your license, you have to pay $75.