The beauty industry is growing day by day. Therefore, new trends and working methods are popping up. As a result, there are many job opportunities in the beauty market.
One can portray the same situation in Tennessee as well. In case you are looking for a career in the beauty industry in the state of Tennessee, you are likely to have many questions. This guide is to answer your questions.
To obtain a license as a cosmetologist in Tennessee, meet these requirements and prerequisites:
To begin with, you should attend and graduate from a beauty school. There you will complete a cosmetology program, which consists of 1500 hours. The training must be approved by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
The cosmetology program will qualify you for these categories:
Prior to your cosmetology program graduation, the cosmetology school will submit an application for you. Once you meet the cosmetology licensing requirements in Tennessee, the board will send you the test registration information.
You should pay $60 for application.
Here is the contact information:
Tennessee State Board of Cosmetology
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1147
When your application is confirmed, the time for exams has come.
You should take both practical and theory exams to test your proficiency in cosmetology. Note that you will be required to pay $140 to take the exams ($70 for each one).
For the practical exam, you will have 170 minutes to test your practical skills. Hence, you will demonstrate a number of cosmetology skills, including:
The first thing to remember is to bring your own supplies and necessary items for the exam.
Secondly, for the theory exam, you will have 120 minutes to answer multiple-choice questions, which touch on:
As a future cosmetologist, you will also need to take a law exam, which will assess your knowledge of the rules and regulations in the field of cosmetology.
In the state of Tennessee, you must renew your cosmetology license every two years. You are allowed to renew it 60 days before your license is due to expire. You should pay $60 for renewal.
Another key point is to complete 16 hours of continuing education. The course is to refresh your memory and educate you on the latest trends. Thus, do not take continuing education lightly and do your best to make the best out of these courses.
It is important to realize that your cosmetology license will expire if you fail to complete all requirements for renewal.
In the state of Tennessee, to get another copy of your cosmetology license, you must fill out an application for a copy of your license and apply to the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.